Nathanael’s Poem

Walking through the entrance at Walmart,

I glimpse the carts neatly lined in rows.

Dozens of them empty and ready to be used,

but you have no interest in those.

You skip giddily ahead of me through the doors,

there are so many exciting things to see.

But I remind you patiently and often

that you must stay close to me.

Walking steadily along the sidewalk,

a handful of years have passed quickly by.

A pair of training wheels lay idly in the short green grass

as I help you ride your bike.

Your brothers learned to ride a while ago,

and it’s them you want to please.

But as I let the bike go and you bravely take off,

I holler, “Son, stay close to me!”

Walking through rows of cushioned chairs,

your Dad and I search for the best seats.

It’s your high school graduation day,

and it’s you we want to see.

I think of the infinite tests you’ve studied for,

and all the books I’ve made you read.

And as you accept your diploma and begin the next journey,

I beg you, “Son, please stay close to me.”

Walking the narrow, carpeted aisle,

we’ve arrived at your wedding day.

You stand confident and calm, waiting for your bride.

She looks so beautiful today.

You’ll create many new memories together

as bits of your childhood may become a blur.

We’ll call each other often, and I’ll be there for you always,

but now, son, you must stay close to her.

Walking giddily into the hospital,

I’m so excited to meet your son.

You announced he was coming a long nine months ago,

and finally the day has come.

Stepping quietly into the room,

I glimpse your new little family of three.

And tears brim my eyes and roll down my face as I hear you tenderly whisper,

“Son, stay close to me.”

Leave a comment